BEN HOWARD

6 May

Old Pine lyrics

Hot sand on toes, cold sand in sleeping bags,
I’ve come to know that memories
Were the best things you ever had
The summer shone beat down on bony backs
So far from home where the ocean stood

We stood
Steady as the stars in the woods
So happy-hearted
And the warmth rang true inside these bones

I’ve come to know the friends around you
Are all you’ll always have
Smoke in my lungs, or the echoed stone
Careless and young, free as the birds that fly
With weightless souls now.

We grow, grow, steady as the morning
We grow, grow, older still

Diamonds lyrics

All I am is the bones you made for me
So garishly clean

And all my demons, you said, come and go with a haze

I’ll grow old in my way.
Just like you do.

Oh there ain’t no diamonds in the boredom
Oh there ain’t no darkness that I fear

The Wolves lyrics

falling through lost spaces,
Now that we’re lonely,

these clock towers burning up,
I lost my time here,
i lost my patience with it all.

And we lost faith, in the arms of love.

Where you been hiding lately,

these towers been tumbling down,
I lost my mind here,

Everything lyrics

The birds still sing outside these
These windows
Where we sat together
Like nothing ever happened here oh
The white house on the hill
And black clouds the weather

But you don’t care about
These scenes I treasure

Seems it’s about time darling
About time we let this all go

Cause everything will start again anew
Cause everything just goes away my friend
And every king knows it to be true
And every kingdom must one day come to an end

And the sun vanished, may be long gone
And all these memories we’ve found

When our bodies are laying beneath the ground
She knows everything that goes around

Everything will start again anew
Cause everything just goes away my friend

Only Love lyrics

Darling I feel you, under my body.

Give me shelter, or show me heart

Watch me fall apart, watch me fall apart.

And I’ll be yours to keep.
Going in the shallows, will so in the deep.

The Fear lyrics

cold hearted child, tell me where its all gone
The luster of your bones, those arms that held you strong

I been worryin’ that my time is a little unclear
I been worryin’ that I’m losing the one’s I hold dear
I been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear

cold hearted child, tell me where it all falls
Oh this apathy you feel will make a fool of our soul?

I been worryin’, I been worryin’, I will become what I deserve

I been worryin’ that we all live our lives in the confines of fear

Keep Your Head Up lyrics

I spent my time watching
the spaces that had grown between us

the scars that come with the greeness
I gave my eyes to the boredom
still the seabed wouldn’t let me in
And I tried my best to embrace the darkness
in which I swim

Now walking back down this mountain
with the strength of a turning tide
The wind so soft at my skin
the sun so hot upon my side
Looking out at this happiness
I searched for between the sheets
Feeling blind, to realise
All I was searching for was me
Oh all i was searching for was me

Keep your head up, keep your heart strong
Keep your mind set, keep your hair long

I saw a friend of mine the other day
And he told me that my eyes were gleaming
I said I’d been away
and he knew the depths I was meaning
It felt so good to see his face
the comfort invested in my soul
To feel the warmth of his smile
when he said ‘I’m happy to have you home’
Oh im happy to have you home

Keep your head up…

Because I’ll always remember you the same
Eyes like wildflowers with your demons of
change
May you find happiness there
May all your hopes turn out right

Black Flies lyrics

Winter stole summer’s thrill
And the river’s cracked and cold

Hope here needs a humble hand
Not a fox found in your place

Comfort came against my will
And every story must grow old

Still I’ll be a traveller
A gypsy’s reins to face
But the road is wearier

So here we are

And i dont want to beg your pardon
And i dont want to ask you why
Well if i was to go my own way
Would i have to pass you by?

Gracious lyrics

How would you know?
When everything around you’s changing like the weather,
A big black storm.
And where’d you turn to?
Or hide a ghost, a shadow at the most, would you let me know?
Cause I don’t want to,
To trouble your mind with the childish design of how it all should go.

When it all comes clear, when the wind is settled, I’ll be here, you know.

Darling I’ll grow weary, happy still
With just the memory of your face

Gracious goes the ghost of you
And I will never forget the plans and the
Silhouettes you drew here and
Gracious goes the ghost of you
My dear

How would you know?
When everything around you’s bruised and battered
Like the cold night storm.

Promise lyrics

Winter shall howl at the walls, tearing down doors of time

And promise me this; you’ll wait for me only, scared of the lonely arms
Surface, far below these words
Maybe, just maybe I’ll come home

Going to tell you stories of mine
Who am I?

Could be a burden in time, lonely
Who am I, to you?

7 Bottles lyrics

Seven bottles
And I’m trying to hide the shame

Seven bottles
Makes me weary now
Stumble towards everything

The stars are shining
Far too old
For me to understand

Call Me Maybe lyrics

I threw a wish in the well
Don’t ask me, I’ll never tell
I looked to you as I fell
And now you’re in my way
I trade my soul for a wish
Pennies and dimes for a kiss I wasn’t looking for this

And all the other boys, try to chase me,
But here’s my number so call me maybe

You took your time with the call
I took no time with the fall
You gave me nothing at all, but still you’re in my way
I beg and borrow and steal
Have foresight and it’s real
I didn’t know I would feel it, but it’s in my way
Your stare was holdin’, Ripped jeans,
Skin was showin’ Hot night, wind was blowin’
Where you think you’re going, baby?

Hey, I just met you, and this is crazy
But here’s my number so call me maybe
And all the other boys, try to change me,
But here’s my number so call me maybe

Oats In The Water lyrics

Go your way,
I’ll take the long way ’round,
I’ll find my own way down,
As I should.

As croak in the midas touch
A joke in the way that we rust,
And breathe again.

And you’ll find loss
And you’ll fear what you found

There’ll be things you never asked her
Oh how they tear at you now

Move Like You Want lyrics

I saw you earlier on,
They were playing blues downtown

And I know, I know, I know I caught your eye
Because you darling, you caught mine.

So lady get down,
Like there’s no-one else around here.

Baby, move like you wanna,
Baby, move like you need,
Honey, move like you ought to,
Baby, move just to please me.
Baby, move like you wanna,
Baby, move like you need,

Oh I saw you, watching the band play slow
Eyes like a morning star,
In the soft of the early evening glow
And I know, I know, I know you were burning up inside

 I Will Be Blessed lyrics

Oh my ghost came by
Said who do you love the most
Who you wanna call before you die

Who you gonna sing to ‘fore you’re gone

Oh hey heaven is the place we know
Heaven is the arms that hold us
Long before we go

Oh if you’re there
When the world comes to gather me in
Oh if you’re there
I will be blessed

Bones lyrics

Oh go, far from this small town bar we know
Yeah go, frolic in the lights that brought you here
So very long

And hold, hold your lips so tightly
That the shadows may go
Cause I know, I know, I know I know
You can never be alone
Cause it’s just the bones you’re made of

And you laugh like you’ve never been lonely
That’s alright honey
That’s alright with me
Oh you laugh like there’s hope in the story
That’s alright honey
That’s alright with me

And go silent as death on the first day of the snow
Oh go leave these fires burning

[Her ember body]

And cover cover all those boys that search for love
In your room
Cause lust is just a child’s game
And you, oh you were always late to bloom

And you love like you’ve always been lonely
That’s alright honey
That’s alright with me
Oh you love him with all of your body
That’s alright honey
That’s alright with me
Oh you love him like he’ll be there for always
Always honey yeah, always near
Always honey, always near

Oh go far from this small town bar we know
Oh go, leave me with this bird and this song
Out here in the cold
Cause it’s just the bones you’re made of

Under The Same Sun lyrics

I lie in your charms
Though it harms the best of me

And I hope like a child
Widow of the sea

Will you be there when the day’s done

Under the same, under the same sun

My yearn oughta turn these things
Turn these things around
I learned from you
Oh I made these plans, made this plans
With you around dear

Empty Corridors lyrics

She’s got a little house in town
I sometimes go around, there
To see her
And she let me deep inside
I sing her love songs
But she’ll turn them blind
Like she ain’t the sentimental type
I keep my heart in my pocket and I hold
I hold it tight

I know that she don’t mind if I’m,
Going away and I don’t call
I know that she don’t mind if I’m absent through it all

Her skin is softer than the bluest eyes
Just with the warmth that I need
Gives me a place
To hide from the streetlights burning through the bedroom window
In the shadows yeah there’s loneliness we cling to
When the morning comes
We’ll go, we’ll go our separate ways
Ain’t no magic my Dear, ain’t no reason to stay

And we fall through empty corridors
And we talk in useless metaphors

Only cause we’re lonely

These Waters lyrics

I saw red and yellow flowers outside over
The brightest sunrise ever to’ve touched my eyes.

And through it all,
I stood and stumbled, waded through my thoughts and heart
Yeah through it all,
I fooled and fumbled, lost to the poet’s frown.
I fought the wolves of patience just to let it lie down.

See these waters they’ll pull you up,
Oh now if you’re bolder than the darkness.
My my, let these songs be an instrument to cut,
Oh spaces between the happiness and the hardness.

Out the door,
The touch of morning, the burning of the frost

Strong hands to hold, good friends that I never lost.

And what we found
Down these coves of limestone and cockle shells,
What we found
Down these roads that wander as lost as the heart,
Is a chance to breathe again, a chance for a fresh start.

Cloud Nine Lyrics

Shadows on the water,
From a memory that turns inside,
From the last time i saw you happier,
Than i’ve seen you in a long time.

And it seems to me it all worked out so different
Funny how distance and time they don’t change at all.

So may your worries, may your worries
Never fall too loud.
And may you stay here, may you stay here
Happy in your own skin,
On the ninth cloud.

Cold to every warning,
Oh these ships that passed through, years before

With the sun on your face, the bruise and the breaks of these careless arms.

So hold your body, hold your body
Strong in these winds that blind
And may I find you, may we sit together when we’re grey and old,
On cloud nine.

This life will move you with every step outside,
It’s alright, it’s alright
my arms are open wide for you
This life will move you as graceful as the tide
It’s alright, it’s alright
Loosen the fears that fears that bind you.

Depth Over Distance Lyrics

this tree of ours may grow tall in the woods,
But it’s the roots that will bind us here,
To the ground

Depth over distance was all I asked of you
And I may foolish to fall as I do
Still there’s strength in the blindness you fear
If you’re coming too

Hold on, wait until that long sun
Breaks from the arms of the Lord

Still there’s things I’d do, darling, I’d go blind for you
If you let go sometimes, let go sometimes, let it go
Just let it go sometimes

Further Away Lyrics

The faces you see on the way up
Are those on the way back down, my friend
But you’ve been climbing shoulders around you
Trying to reach the big blue sky
And all above you is just the blackness, darling
And everything below you dies

And nobody gives a fuck about you
Tell you it’s a damn shame
The prettiest eyes in the whole world
The same fool in the same game

You�ve been growing up
You�ve been growing on
Further away from us now

Follaton Woods Lyrics

As we walked up the footpath through the fields,
how the rain did reveal your heart.
And the rope swing from the balance held the weight,
shadows fall and a cold wind blows.
And you said oh maybe we’re just lost souls here,
maybe oh everybody goes.

Young oh ho we were young.

Still don’t, don’t you forget.
That rope you tied around your neck.

Don’t free you darling, oh oh ho oh ho oh

And it took them three days to find you,
tired torch lights and dog scents.
Oh they led you down from the highest branches,
cold eyes and frozen arms.
And my my my your beauty was so dumbfounded,
lace white dress and your hair as long as Follaton Woods.
And the whole town just stood there crying looking at the darkness,
for something wholesome and good.

Oh and it was the strangest day,
people taking cover people holding shame.

Oh you’d left your
Heart oh.
You would’a laughed your heart ah ah ah out.

London Lyrics

Oh, how i wish i could drag you down here,
Pull these feet far from the ground
Because this, this city ain’t no friend of mine

All i can do
When the tracks stop at the final destination
Is just push on through,
The weariness and silences of such a crowded situation here.

When every brick, every bar, every elegance i see, i see her face,
Is just push on, just push on through,
These embers of memories that float from the fire, from the fire of this place.

All i can do
when these lights, they haunt me like orchids in a graveyard,
Is just just push on, just push on through
These faces of dust and stone,
The dirt and bone of loss.

So don’t give up on me now,
Oh these legs that’ll walk me home.

Because it’s only concrete and cars,
It’s only sirens and missing stars,
It’s only whiskey and disregard
In the smallest hours here, when i feel alone.

Soldiers Lyrics

oh you watch me stready, you
watch me with such a quiet sincerity
and you hold me heavy, you
hold me like I was born to be held
and the Iight comes in here, yeah
morning my dear, and the restlessness of arms
and we lie here longing now
words were ours that will never be harm
’cause you are dear to me

but if this goes wrong again, oh heaven forbid
if this was how it was meant to fall, no
if this goes wrong again
will you pretend that you know, steady as the morning and just go
and just go

I made you breakfast, oh
soldiers to guard and keep you company
and I’m going away again
the faces and falsities of new friends
yeah there’s fires here to burn, and
timbers left to learn in this young heart

The Fire Lyrics

Lie here till your world stops spinning round
Lie near me till the birds start singing out
Come, show what it is to be warm:

Come, lie down till the four winds cease to blow
Lie here full of rivers that you know.
And i’ll make your bones shake, the sweat we take from hearts still battered and worn.
Be my shelter and i’ll be your storm.

And we’ll show the fire,
We’ll show the fire how to burn.

I don’t know, i don’t know where you came from,
But God’s been smiling.
I don’t know, I don’t know where the rain’s gone
But it’s been a while, been a while now.

Wouldn’t be a lie

I know you felt lonely

yeah I know people tried to get you down

and all around was laughing faces

I tried so hard, to help you understand

to put some hope into your hands

and all the time you cried and said to me

why can’t everything be right

wouldn’t be a lie if I said I was missing, missing you, missing you

never thought that you, that you wouldn’t be here

never thought that i would see these tears fall

wouldn’t be a lie if I said I was missing you tonight

Tear away kids… 2007 Not published yet
Other side 2007 Not published yet
To the city  2008 Not published yet
Wouldn’t be a lie 2008 Not published yet
Empty corridors 2008 Not published yet
Games in the dark 2008 Not published yet
Are you ready 2008 Not published
Me and My Friend Time 2008 Not published
Twilight 2008 Not published yet
Are you ready 2008 Not published yet

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

semioticaparatodos

Estudiando los significados sociales

Compañeros del Emprendimiento

Reflexiones sobre emprendimiento, innovación y competitividad

